book reviews

Holding Up The Universe – Jennifer Niven

I’ve been waiting for this for so long! Ever since Jennifer announced she was writing another YA novel I’ve been eagerly awaiting its arrival and I finally got it on 4th October when it came out. I’d pre-ordered a signed version and so now I have Jennifer’s lovely purple handwriting in my book also! I’m not going to give too much away but I wish that this book had existed when I was younger, I feel as though it’s targeted at a much younger audience compared to All The Bright Places (aka my favourite book in the whole entire world) and wish it was something I could have read when I was 13 / 14. It’s a really nice, uplifting story and I didn’t cry once which is an amazing achievement as after ATBP I wanted to die and didn’t stop crying for 3 days straight. I feel like it’s not only a book but a great way of boosting the confidence of young girls who may not feel as though they fit society’s standards of perfection and being the right thing. It’s a book about the importance of being who you are and not what you are, I really enjoyed it.

Diary Of An Oxygen Thief – Anonymous

I’d been wanting to read this for a long time because you know, we’ve all see those Instagram posts of the first page of the novel with the whole “I liked hurting girls” charade.  I’d always find myself scrolling through the comments to find out which book it was from and ever since I found out, it had been on my to-read list. I ordered it a couple of months ago and only just got around to reading it the other day and I can’t exactly say I was disappointed, as I wasn’t really sure what to expect in the first place but, I did think it was going to be better than it was.  My second favourite book in the world is Catcher In The Rye by J.D. Salinger and as I was reading through I felt like the two had a similar vibe. On the blurb of DOAOT it also states that it’s “Holden Caulfield meets Lolita” and I could see the resemblance. The first quarter of the book had me hooked, it was quite dark and a page turner, you want to keep reading just to find out what happens next, but then it slowly fizzled out and turned into the life of what I thought was quite a boring guy, and because this guy’s life was boring, so was the book. I also had to re-read certain pages and paragraphs over again because they didn’t make sense to me and therefore I couldn’t understand / picture the situation, but then again, this book wasn’t made for literary purposes, it’s just some guy writing about his cruel and sad life, right? I read the whole thing in one sitting because despite this, I did want to finish it and see where it went but honestly, I don’t feel like I gained anything from this book other than being able to tick another thing off my ‘to be read’ list. However, I would encourage people to read this as I’d be interested to hear their take on it. Some people love this book, other’s hate it, I don’t really have strong feelings towards either, it just kind of left me luke warm.

Tuesdays With Morrie – Mitch Albom

I’d been wanting to read ‘The 5 People You Meet In Heaven’ by Mitch Albom for over a year but had never got around to borrowing or purchasing it. I knew of him as an author and so had a look into other books he had written and came across Tuesdays With Morrie (it makes me sad even writing the title because this book has such a big piece of my heart). It had been on my to-read list for months and I was in a charity shop and low and behold, I see this book right in front of me. Fast forward to last weekend when I read it and I was so touched. I was 90% sure it was a true story (it is by the way) but it was at the end of the book when it finally sank in that this man was real and so were his teachings. I feel like this book could enlighten and teach you about life more than any self help or philosophical book can. Each chapter is sectioned off and dedicated to a different topic that Mitch and Morrie spoke about each Tuesday, which makes me want to carry this book with my wherever I go and whenever I need guidance, enlightenment or am just feeling generally down, I can flip to a specific chapter and read Morrie’s words, which I will never get tired of. It’s so hard to describe this book and do it, and Morrie – this incredible man, justice for how inspiring he truly is. Everyone needs to hear this man’s words and I would give this book to anybody who needs to hear it (note – I think that everybody needs to hear it). This book is full of so much love, guidance and filled with memories and I’m so happy that Mitch and Morrie decided to create it. I didn’t cry ‘til near the end and then once I’d started, I couldn’t stop, I finished the book and bawled like a baby. I then immediately went onto the internet and watched all of the interviews with Morrie which had been frequently mentioned throughout the book and ah, I’m just so grateful to have read this, I felt like it was an experience – a lovely one and I encourage anybody who is curious about reading it to do so, you won’t regret it.

2 thoughts on “book reviews

Leave a Reply

