a day of journaling

What is important to you? List four things that money can’t buy.

Lately I’ve been growing a lot and realising what truly is important in the world, I’m sad that I spent so much time worrying and dwelling on things that really were not important in the slightest. Here are four things that money can’t buy:

1).ย Love.ย This is kind of an easy one and maybe a cliche thing to say but it really is true, money can’t (and doesn’t) buy love from anybody. It can mean a lot of different things which I’ll go into in a minute but no matter how much you try to buy people’s love,ย validation, affection orย acceptance it will never work, because it’s not real, it’s not true. Don’t invest money into yourself because you think it will gain love and validation from someone else – don’t buy hair extensions because the boy you’re into prefers girls with long hair. Don’t whiten your teeth because the ‘popular’ girls at school have Hollywood smiles. Don’t do things because you want to impress other people, do it because it’sย yourย choice and it’s going to makeย youย happy, not someone else. You can’t buy love, the people who really love you won’t and don’t care about materialistic rubbish, whether you weigh 90 pounds or 900, whether you have long hair or no hair at all, whether you went to that party or stayed at home. They don’t care, believe me.
P.S. – Popularity is a social construct and does not define you.ย โ™ก

2).ย True / real happiness.ย Once again, it may be cliche but it needs to be said. True happiness comes from within andย notย from anything else. Do not let your happiness depend on other people and don’t rely on them to make you happy, it has to come from you, and you have to mean it.

3).ย Experience.ย Your whole life is an experience and you are so lucky to be given the chance to do whatever the hell you want with it. Experiences are things you see, feel, hear, touch and taste – that then turn into memories. You can’t buy those, you can’t buy experience, the more you do something the easier it becomes, so just go along with it. Listen to people who have more experience than you, don’t let them talk down to you but definitely learn from them and take knowledge from them if they’re willing to offer it. Experience is good in anything and also comes with time, so don’t stress about it. Let it be! Memories are the things that keep you alive and allow things to live on, they’re going to save your life. Make as many of them as you can.

4).ย Knowledge.ย This kind of ties in with experience but I wanted to make it a separate point as knowledge and learning is really important to me, and itย doesn’t have to come from sitting in a classroom. I hate that it took me such a long time to realise this because I was ‘taught’ (ha) that if I didn’t learn from a classroom, I couldn’t learn from anywhere. You learn new thingsย every day. Your whole life is a learning experience and nothing that a teacher in a classroom tells you is any better than the things you can learn for yourself. I’ve learned more since I left school than I ever did in the 13 years I spent in education. I want to know how to love myself and what I can do to save the planet, how to book a plane ticket and why it’s taken so long for women to be recognised as equal throughout the world. They don’t teach you this in school, I might not know how to pay bills but hey at least I can calculate the circumference of a circle.ย Knowledge is power, and you can never have enough of it. Go out and learn things, real things, things that can’t be taught between four empty walls or bought for anything but time. Save the world.

All my love, Chloe .xx

13 thoughts on “a day of journaling

  1. charandtheweb says:

    I love this, and it’s so true. There are so many things we think we need but what it comes down to is only a couple of things, and these are definitely on the list. If you love yourself and surround yourself with the right people, then the rest will fall into place. Of course that is easier said than done, but hey, baby steps! Great read!

    Iโ€™m Charlotte and Iโ€™m a Community Manager for Creators.co. Iโ€™m currently looking for interesting, inspiring articles and aspiring writers whoโ€™d like to share their work on the platform. Would that be something you might be interested in? Feel free to shoot me an e-mail for more info. You can find my details on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • hell0chloe says:

      Thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed and I totally agree about surrounding yourself with the right people, it’s the best thing you can do. I’ve dropped you an email but I’m not sure if it’s sent properly so let me know and I’ll take a look. Have a lovely day x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lauzieslifestyle says:

    Four perfect points! I wish it didn’t take me so many years, to realise I shouldn’t try to change myself to please anyone other than myself. I always like to listen to different people, but I think you should decide for yourself, whether or not to follow what they say. Thank you for this post! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

